leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's my birthday!

I'm 29 today.

That sounds like a big number. Not that I'm hung-up-on age or anything. I'm all for youth is in how you feel and all. But I've felt about 35 since I was 4...Some childhoods will do that to you.

I do miss some things from when I was little though:

Tiptoeing barefoot through wet grass in the early evening to catch the frogs that noisily filled the yard after it rained.

Lying on my stomach with my face two inches from the ground watching snails make their way across the garden. And then picking them up and waiting perfectly still until they came back out of their shells and crossed my hand.

Lying across the inside of the tire swing dangling there while the wind blew me gently.

Making mud pies.

Crawling inside my mother's red wardrobe with my twin sister and shutting the door so we could pretend we were going to Narnia to find Aslan...I can't believe we were ever little enough to fit in there, much less together, and still shut the door!

Not caring / not even knowing how my hair looked or if my tummy stuck out.

Naps. (I know many people who still take them, but they give me headaches.)

Fieldtrips.

Fingerpainting.

The smell of air-conditioner and paste and butcher paper from inside my grade school.

Having bed-time stories read to me by my second brother.

Riding around in my fourth brother's truck with his girlfriend and my twin and not being able to see over the dashboard. He had a long pony tail and he kept rubberbands on the shift-stick and he smoked pipes (and pot) and I remember the delicious smell and the sense of adventure.

Playing in the front yard late at night with my twin, smelling my father's cigar while he sat "watching the cars go by".

Having to "mountain climb" just to get on my big sister's bed when she would let us hang out in her room while she got ready for dates. I thought she was the most beautiful girl in the world.

I've got to stop this. I'm getting all teary-eyed. Maybe I'll finish more some other time.

Oh well, Happy Birthday To Me! 29 sounds like a lovely number. (I like the odd ones better anyway.)

8:31 a.m. - January 13, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter