leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eulogy for Mr. Rogers

I got sad last night. Teary even.

About Mister Rogers.

I'm a candy-ass ball-baby and I should be medicated.

Like every other 70's child I watched him every day along with Sesame Street.

Of course I reached an older cynical stage where I considered him a freak in a zip-up sweater that made a career out of changing his shoes and finger-fucking a bunch of puppets. (Puppetry...think about it.)

Anyway since then I never really gave him any thought. Then he died. And last night one of the news channels was broadcasting an interview with him from a few years ago. And I was reading on the couch, but the tv was on. And I heard his voice. And my chest tightened. And it all came back to me.

When I was a little girl, I Loved him. He made me feel good about myself. He taught me that it was okay to be whoever you were, even if it meant you were different from other people. He succeeded at something my parents never managed...he gave me permission to think highly of myself. Self esteem hidden in a toy train and a song about neighbors. It slipped out of my grasp quickly, but for the little while after those thirty minutes of silly, overacted characters and poorly done voices, I thought I was important and special and good.

He had really unattractive puppets, but I believe he was a nice man with a pure heart. And I am grateful for his life.

8:35 a.m. - February 28, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter