leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a brief inventory of choices

If I could do it over...

I'd make more noise.
I wouldn't let them put braces on my teeth.
I'd be a cheerleader.
I'd tell them I want to watch the rodeo clowns.
I'd be more careful where I found joy.
I'd love my parents anyway.
I'd believe I was smart.
I'd be more gentle with Erin.
I wouldn't mind that the truck smelled like the hogs.
I'd learn to play the piano.

If I could do it over...

I'd still stand on my own two feet.
I'd still stay away from home.
I'd still say goodbye.
I'd still do what I did to get rid of Ryan.
I'd still give Dokk my last dollar, even though it makes me feel used.
I'd still let you come back.
I'd still call in sick to make love, go eat pancakes, and hold hands through the museum.
I'd still be the groupie-chick alone in the pool.
I'd still have all my tattoos.
I'd still bribe you to stay another minute.
I'd still fall in love even if it means I'd be hurt.
I'd still hurt you so you would know how it feels.

This isn't a list. It's a lesson. I could continue both lists forever; but what I learned, what I know now, is this:

-Life isn't a score sheet.
-I've lived more honestly than I thought I had.
-You will regret the things you didn't do more than those you did.
-Listen to your instincts. The things I would redo...I always knew in my heart were a mistake, I just did them anyway.

2:13 p.m. - April 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter