leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

D's return and a lack of maps

I was mostly sick this weekend. Spent all of Friday and Sunday in bed. Though I did manage to make it to work Saturday night.

This guy I used to know (friend of a friend) was at the bar. He recognized me so I grudgingly went to say hi. (I never liked him much.) He asked how I'd been. If I'd talked to any of our mutual friends recently. And then he casually threw in that he'd seen D on Halloween and that he was moving or has moved back to the city. Sorry for the lack of clarity, but I stopped breathing and therefore processing any higher thought somewhere around the time he mentioned he'd seen him.

I explained D once before. He was my world for a very long time. And he is so much of what I have become, that I can't imagine me without that history. And if I saw him on the street I would probably drive my cute little Honda right off the road.

Anyway he said it. And it's not like I haven't heard his name a million times over the past years, but always as this distant thing that was nowhere near me. Even if he was in town visiting his family, I knew the chance of seeing him was minimal. But now he's not a ghost. Now he's this person that will be breathing the same air I do, and driving the same streets.

And I'm honestly a little startled by my overwhelming, instantaneous reaction to the knowledge of his presence.

The mind and the heart are such strange, surprising places.

4:42 p.m. - November 22, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter