leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Oh my goodness.

My what an adventurous and adrenaline-filled day I had yesterday.

An early morning visit to Dr. Wonderful (typed with all sincerity), resulted in another office reading of low amniotic fluid. Since it's the second time this has happened at his office, he decided to make it official-like and send me to the hospital immediately for a more thorough test.

Translation: 4 hours confined to a bed in L&D triage to get an accurate measurement and put the kid through his first big test. The doctor said the magic words: If he doesn't react well, or if it really is low, WE'LL TAKE HIM TODAY.

At this point I think I smiled sweetly, thanked him, and left. Somewhere between the office door and the elevator I freaked. WHAT DO YOU MEAN TODAY? We've got furniture to move, the crib to set up, all the little clothes and blankets and towels and sheets to wash, we don't even have the car seat.

I called and woke up DarlingDear and we went to the hospital. Poor thing had only two hours sleep, but he was wonderful. Everything I could have asked for.

They decided the baby looked great, the fluid looked fine, so they sent us on our merry way, slightly dazed and unbelieving. After lying there for so long preparing for the possibility of actually having a baby in our arms by the end of the day, I think we were both a little afraid someone might tackle us at the elevators and drag us back if we didn't escape quickly enough.

So still dazed and terrified out of our wits by the close call, we did what anyone would do...we went home and tore it up. He moved furniture like a mad man, built a crib, a swing, and a stroller (which we went shopping for on the way home), in just a few hours, while I stood there ripping through little plastic packages of miscellaneous things until my fingers were sore.

So we're now mostly ready. I still need to do the laundry and there are some finishing touches that would be nice to have in place, but we feel ready.

He called me this morning while I was at work. He said he couldn't sleep so he had started cleaning house and doing some of those finishing touches.

He's nesting...how cute!

Wow. It's really real. And it's really happening.

Good grief!

10:42 a.m. - August 11, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter