leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How very sad.

I was up at 8:26 (Mountain) and I turned on the tv expecting to listen to cartoons while I washed the dishes. About four steps toward the kitchen, my back to the television, I realized something was wrong.

It's amazing the way 9/11 has affected us; that is the first thing that ran through my mind: "Dear Lord, what now?"

So I sat frozen. Not a good time to live alone with only a python in the next room for company. I really must get a cat. Or a boyfriend.

Then they spoke about the debris field. And Erin and the babies were in Dallas for the weekend visiting her husband's aunt. And I could see my darling sister with our shared atrocious luck being struck down and killed by some random, tragic piece of metal.

Absurd I know. But these are the things you think when your up too early on a Saturday morning, and there's no one to hold your hand, and nothing to pet, and your reason is scarred by the horror of other things that shouldn't have ever happened either.

So I prayed and I got off the couch and did the dishes.

And I think maybe there shouldn't be any more space shuttles with names beginning with C.

8:41 a.m. - February 03, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter