leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Healthcare is doomed...or...Why my job sucks

My boss is wonderful.

My awful residents (who I alternately call "my darlings") complained to him that I am "abrasive."

He told them it was a learned response; and explained that they couldn't complain about what they themselves had done to me. (When he told me what he said, I hugged him.)

If they wouldn't behave like toddlers, perhaps I'd be less abrasive.

These are doctors. It's so discouraging to go home at the end of the day knowing that you just had to explain to people who will soon be making $150,000/yr and responsible for people's lives, that it's wrong to look me in the face and lie; no, they can't skip clinics to go to the bank; and why they can't use their accrued sick time to go on vacation.

I'm frightened for the future of medicine.

8:59 a.m. - March 19, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter