leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

War and the movie and the big things

I find it hard to believe that we are in what we are in.

War.

The word itself seems unreal. Like unicorn or faerie. A made up thing that happens only in movies.

There has been another war during my lifetime, but I was young. It didn't even faze me. Teenagers are invincible don't you know. Nothing touches them. Last summer my sweet, smart nephew looked his mother in the eye and said "Oh. When's dinner?" after she told him the doctor found a mass in her brain. Your world is different when you are young and that is exactly as it should be. Though some are ancient from childhood, so I suppose I shouldn't spout generalities. I was talking about me to begin with and I should go back to that.

I'm waiting for the plot twist; waiting for those last few minutes of the movie when I realize what is going to happen; the inevitable ending. Despite denial and me, making fast friends, reality has certainly brought perspective.

These things are small:

Worries
Bills
Hope
Pleasure
Pain
Future

These things are big:

Love
Faith
Forgiveness
Joy
Those Beloved
Now

The world is so very big and so very small. We are a conundrum. We are magic by the simple fact of existance.

God bless and keep us all, no matter what we believe.

8:44 a.m. - March 20, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter