leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

in an attempt to make you feel less weird

Did I mention I also have an irrational fear of kitchen appliances.

Not really of the appliances of themselves. Just of leaving them plugged in.

I blame it on my parents.

You see there's something of a curse on my childhood home. Maybe not a curse, but sort of a black cloud. (Like the house in The Munsters.) My sister and I have long believed it has something to do with the upside-down horseshoes. (Long story...don't ask.)

Anyway the misfortune is often centered around the kitchen. (Unless you count the incident with my mother and the hedgeclipper, or me and the scissors, or the mice and the dryer, which I don't.)

Things in the kitchen tend to catch on fire. Frequently. And I don't mean food or paper goods. We're talking major and minor appliances and a couple of Salad Shooters. (If you don't know what a "Salad Shooter" is, thank your lucky stars and move on.)

So you see, all this running around extinguising things during my childhood has made me slightly goofy about anything in the kitchen that plugs in.

Not that i'm not already slightly goofy about lots of things, but i just thought i'd share.

What is it they say? "Never feel strange, other people are way more screwed up than you could ever imagine." or something like that.

Reassuring none the less.

2:22 p.m. - June 11, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter