leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beginnings

Forgive interruption of your regularly scheduled post-travel entry for breaking news:

I had a date. A surprise date. Which (in case you were worried) isn't at all like a suprise party in which people jump out from behind things and yell at you.

It was more of a quiet surprise. Although it too made me want to pee a little bit. (I always have that reaction to the unexpected.)

A morning phone call while at work yesterday. A voice I didn't recognize. A chance meeting a month ago apparently resulting in an admirer I didn't know I had. A debate all day about whether I should take a chance. An evening burst of recklessness and the acceptance of an offer for dinner and a drive through the mountains in a convertible. Lovely conversation, easy laughter, beautiful hands, shiver-inducing accent, dancing slightly beside the car parked on scenic drive.

Alive and electric and shockingly stirring. And excruciatingly terrifying in that way that makes your heart thump. What if? What if...so many things?

My cheeks are beginning to ache from smiling.

Pray for me. Please no more pointless beginnings for painful endings.

P.S. I even find him a bit muffiny, but I may be deluding myself. (Pretty men who drive convertibles are rarely good for you.)

Oh bother.

10:16 a.m. - July 23, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter