leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Halloween and that nice John Kennedy

The Halloween party at the bar went mostly well. The cheerleader thing was a hit. I made LOTS of money. Drinks for all. Etc.

I guess I should say something political. Not very surprised by the election. I did vote for Kerry, though I don't think Bush is the evil megalomaniac that most people think he is. I just thought Kerry's presidency might have improved my situation.

They failed us, ya know? Bush might as well have thanked the Democratic party in his speech. They were saying this was one of the most important elections ever. (Maybe they were right, maybe not. I reserve judgment. I'm only 30. This was my fourth Presidential vote. What do I know?) But okay fine, let's say this was huge. This was huge, and important, and the best you people could do was John Kerry? Wh' the Hell? Honestly, I'm one of those people that gets goosebumps in response to commercials for goodness sake, and no matter how hard even I tried to be impressed by the guy, the most he ever did for me was *meh*. Hatred of the other guy is never enough to get you the job. I don't think anyone over in the "we're not the other guy" camp ever really got that. And I honestly don't blame the people who voted for Bush. I blame those who should have done a far better job in getting them not to.

That's the end of my political statements. Back to the regularly scheduled drivel.

P.S. When discussing the election with my 71-year-old Mama, she made a comment that sort of soothed me. Not about this election specifically but about government in general. She said "Ya know back when that nice John Kennedy {like he was her paperboy or something} was running, I didn't vote for him, but I kind of secretly hoped he'd win, just to see what he would be like. He was just so handsome." Sounds silly I know. And I'm not trying to trivialize it. It matters. And I'm worried about the world, about the economy, about healthcare, about the future. But it's true that no matter who you vote for life will be hard. Nobody is the perfect solution. Nobody is the savior except The Savior. You just sort of have to be at peace with that. There's some good and some evil and some smart and some dumb in most everybody. And all you can do is do your damndest to make sure the little life you live, and the light you project into the world is pure and beautiful. The rest of it is mostly going to happen no matter what.

"In three words, I can sum up everything I've learned about life...It goes on."......Robert Frost

8:36 a.m. - November 04, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter