leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The appointment

I had an appointment with my doctor today.

We'd had a few concerns, because last Thursday we had another ultrasound (just to see the baby again,) and the sonographer measured my amniotic fluid as being low. She asked if I'd been leaking, and I was positive I hadn't, but she was concerned enough that she stepped out to speak with the doctor.

He said to drink lots of water and take it easy and he'd check it again at my regular appointment today.

Before he even whipped out the belly gel and the wand, while I was lying down and in the process of pulling my shirt up under my breasts and my pants down low, he put his hands on my stomach and said he couldn't imagine how I could be low. (I guess I look fully inflated?) He measured it and said it was fine. Normal is 8 or above. Borderline is from 8 to 6. And scary is 5 or below. She was measuring me at a 6.1. He's measuring me at 10.something.

But regardless he's going to start my weekly visits two weeks earlier than he would have just to keep an eye on it.

I'm not too worried. It certainly motivated my water-hating self to start chugging the vile stuff. I'd been trying this whole pregnancy, but I know there are days I blow it off and this sort of re-inspired me.

Itty-bitty other problem. The baby is breech. Camped out with his little butt and both feet as low as they can go.

I hadn't gotten a chance to thank you guys, but the small medical problem that might have resulted in a c-section had resolved itself with no intervention. Thanks mostly to y'all's wonderfully kind prayers and positive thoughts.

But now here I am again looking at a possible c-section, if my little sweet pea doesn't get himself ass over teakettle soon. He has time to turn. Some of the doctors here at my work have told me stories about babies turning even in the last week. Babies do whatever they want to do, I know. And I truly believe it's in God's hands. So I'm not going to stress about it. Even though it felt so awfully nice to already have the doctor paid off, and his price like doubles for a c-section, not to mention the extra hospital costs.

I just wish I'd paid more attention in the c-section portion of the prenatal classes. There are other questions I would have asked, if I'd even considered it a possibility. Stupid me and my optimism. (haha)

Anyway...that's the latest. 38 days and counting.

Love,
M

2:34 p.m. - July 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter