leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The first 2007 entry.

Long time no anything, huh.

Sorry. Life has been full and breathless.

Things are good I think. Good in that general sense where things hurt some, and are lovely some, and you feel generally blessed and therefore guilty about hating so many things and being sad too often.

I've stopped forgetting to breathe, so I'm thinking that's a good indication of healing. Although I still clench my teeth all the time sleeping and awake, and must constantly remind myself to relax my jaw.

Griffin is brilliant. No really! What do you mean all parents say that?

I've taught him sign-language, and he signs 18 words and speaks 8 or 9. Even though some of them aren't exactly right. (He calls ducks kack-kacks. As in quack-quack.)

He's funny, and considerate, and loving.

He learned to shake people awake by watching me push on his daddy while trying to drag him out of bed. (Must mention absolutely adorable watching him put his fat little hands on his daddy and push/shake for all he's worth.) Anyway, the other day I was trying to convince him it was time for bed and so I picked up his baby doll and told him "Look. Your baby is sleepy. Night-night, baby." Then laid the doll down on the couch. Griffin said "Uh-uh" and started pressing on it to wake him up.

I was crocheting the other day. (Something I haven't done in the 17 months he's been in the world.) I never dreamed he'd let me, but I thought it was worth a shot. Griffin ran and got his crocheted blanket, sat on the floor, and pulled it on his lap. He watched another minute then jumped up, ran to his play-kitchen and grabbed his spatula, then ran back and pulled his blankie on his lap and started sticking the spatula handle in and out of it.

He's very concerned about anyone being injured or crying, be it real life or on the tv. If you say "ow" he signs "hurt?" and then runs over to kiss it for you. When he hears naughty children yelling in the store, he signs "hurt." I usually say, "yes." (It seems kinder than explaining that they're brats.) Then he signs "baby"+"hurt," says "mama," and signs "better." He's mimicking what I usually tell him when he notices a child crying - "Yes, the baby's crying, but it's okay - his/her mama will make it all better."

I'm sure none of this can convey how neat I think he is. And how amazing I think he is. And how he's like my little best friend.

His daddy is pretty great too!

1:41 p.m. - January 29, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter