leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Stuff of Nightmares

I had been lamenting the fact that upon waking I haven't remembered my dreams these last few weeks.

Be careful what you wish for.

I had nightmares all weekend. The worst of which I will now explain to you in hopes that I can purge it from my psyche.

I should begin with this: I am terrified of fish. I admit it. If there was a support group for this, I'd be there making the coffee. I looked it up on this Phobia Website and it's called Ichthyophobia.

Not that you care, but I looked it up and that's what it's called.

So anyway...my dream: (WARNING: This is really sick - you might not want to read this.)

I was in the kitchen in the house where I grew up. It was night time and other people were home with me, but I was alone in the kitchen. The house had busy, night-sounds (tv on, blow dryer going, etc.) I was making myself a sandwich. I put two pieces of white bread on a plate. I spread them with Miracle Whip, and then I reached into this huge pickle jar and pulled out a live, miniture Great White Shark. There were like seven of them swimming around in this jar. They were about six inches long and they had no teeth, just little, pink, protruding gums. I put him down in the middle of the bread then put the other slice on top of him. He just laid there perfectly still, but he was still alive. And, even though I was evidently doing this of my own free will, I really didn't want to eat him. I remember feeling grateful that he wasn't squirming, because I didn't think I could eat him if he was struggling. But he didn't move. So I picked up the sandwich and debated which end to bite first. I finally decided to bite into the left side and so I did. All I got was a mouthful of bread, because he was only like two inches wide, so he didn't reach the end of the bread. But when I lowered my hand and looked at my sandwich I could see where my teeth had sort of grazed his side. He had some little scrapes that were bleeding. I was horrified.

I woke up gagging, shaking my head, and mumbling "no".

I hadn't been watching sharks on tv. I didn't go to bed hungry. I don't even eat white bread.

I have no idea what this dream meant (if dreams mean anything), and I'm not really sure I want to know.

You don't have to tell me. I'm one sick puppy. Sorry for sharing.

1:21 p.m. - December 02, 2002

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter