leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've never used the word gargantuan before.

It could be said that I am of the melodramatic persuasion. But said only by those who, unlike me, fail to appreciate the gravity of most situations.

After having said this, I must inform you of an occurance of the gravest nature, the results of which may cause a ripple effect from now till time unending.

Last night...the sky fell.

Ok. Maybe it wasn't exactly the sky.

I suppose exactly it was the "light fixture cover that attaches to the ceiling fan" in my apartment. (This is what the nice lady that works with me told me to call it upon hearing me refer to it as the "big, round, glass-thingy where the light bulb lives".) Ok...so I don't work for Home Depot...cut me some slack already.

I got home from the basketball game last night and my apartment was stuffy. So I turned on the fan in my dining area, directly over my glass kitchen table. (It's actually more of a patio table, but it goes really well with my silk-leaf vines, birdhouses, garden-theme I have going in my kitchen/dining area.) Sorry...tangent.

Anyway, the fan had been on for a couple of hours. I had a headache, so I had turned off the tv and gone to lie down while I waited for Brian to arrive. I'd been lying down for about four minutes when I hear this terrible crash and glass-shattering sound. I flew out of bed and two steps toward the open bedroom door I saw what had happened. The ceiling fan had herky-jerkyed the tiny screws that held the cover. The screws are the only thing holding it, if they are pushed away from the cover then it's just a free fall.

Glass went everywhere. Big pieces, itty-bitty pieces, there was even glass dust all over the surface of my table. Brian arrived soon after, and I had already successfully stabbed myself repeatedly. It took us forever to pick it all up and I must vacuum when I get home from work.

I'm still upset. I suppose I should be glad I wasn't at the table when it fell, and that it didn't break my table.

But I'm a barefoot person. I'm sooo screwed. And I'm not at all sure how to explain this to the apartment management.

So you see... Very bad. And upsetting. And a disaster of gargantuan impact.

10:10 a.m. - March 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter