leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Better safe than sorry I suppose

I miss the gym.

I didn't renew my expiring membership last month. Between my sister visiting, traveling for work, a ruptured eardrum, and generally not wanting to leave home, I hadn't been in almost two months. And frankly, funds are tight right now and I could think of better things to do with the $27 a month.

But now I think I may have made a mistake. It's really not that much money, and I've been so very restless the past few nights, and keep thinking how nice it'd be to go burn some of that energy at the (24 hour) gym. That, and my biceps are looking decidedly uncut. I won't even talk about my ass. I don't have the heart today to discuss my ass.

I guess I'll have to start swimming more. I mean laps, not my usual splashing around trying not to drown while I keep my bikini from slipping off.

I wanted to go jogging the past two nights, but both times it was past 10 p.m. And my darling sister has sort of ruined my courage when it comes to adventures of that sort. She's a bit of a worrier and always full of admonitions:

"Don't go run by yourself at night."
"Don't go wash your car after dark."
"Don't walk past vans."
"Look under and in the backseat of your car before getting in."
Etc. Etc.

Nobody else is concerned with the possibility of me being raped, abducted, or killed, while I'm running around at night, so I guess I should appreciate her anxiety. And considering I live in a city with a history of an insane amount of women's bodies being discovered buried in the desert, in possible connection with an international organ-smuggling ring, I should be glad that she has shaken my audacity.

It really has worked too. She'll be so proud. The other night (very late) I was walking to my car in a huge parking lot, and I got a foot from the bumper of an old van with sliding doors. I stopped, went back the way I came, and went around a little car. The whole time thinking, "Oh, brother!"

10:53 a.m. - May 09, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter