leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

please don't say it

I heard a voice saying my name again last night while falling asleep.

Last night it was my mother's voice.

That alone makes me cringe regardless of the words.

Even when she's being kind, her voice makes me want to duck. Shrug shoulders quick and involuntary, to protect the soft back of my neck. Awaiting the blow to the back of the head from guilt or judgement or whatever.

Fuck. Two for flinching.

Not fair in my sleep. My defenses aren't up when I'm curled, one leg under one leg over my pillow, knee bent almost to my chest, and chin tucked. Not fair at all to call my name then, unless you love me and are whispering goodnight warm into my soft places.

10:31 a.m. - May 14, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter