leftunspoken's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More rambling

I remembered that other bit of nonsense I meant to type here yesterday.

On the subject of bad pick-up lines:

I'm a rough and tumble girl. To be accurate - I'm an utter klutz. I can't walk a straight line without knocking my shoulder or hip or back of my hand into something. I routinely knock myself silly with any sharp, heavy, or hard object anywhere near me.

When mostly lucky, the results are bruises as opposed to broken bones. Sometimes severe-looking black and blue marks. Weekend before last I managed a huge one across the front of my shoulder that looked like a very large hand print, but was in fact the result of me moving my car to let my mom out (while visiting at their house) and walking into the ladder sticking out of the back of my brother's pickup on my way back inside.

Oh yeah, my point:

This mark across my shoulder prompted not one but two gentlemen to make comments along the same lines, and unfortunately, I hear this quite a lot...Basically: "I would never hit a woman as pretty as you."

Now this is offensive for several reasons:

#1 It suggests that you feel it's completely acceptable to hit women you don't find attractive.

#2 It assumes that I am the type of woman who would tolerate being beaten. (Now okay, I'll give you this - once upon a time, I was young and confused about what love included, but not any longer - and it is still rude of you to make that assumption.)

#3 It sounds as if you are trying to impress me, and therefore suggests that I would be impressed just because you don't hit women. (Oh excuse me, you don't hit pretty women.) This would be a pretty pathetic criteria: "Hey, he's unattractive, unintelligent, ignorant, unemployed, lousy in bed, and he smells...but I've still got my teeth. Let's get hitched."

Look. If you want to be charming, and the only in you can find is my bruises, you could at least make a joke. Ask me "How's the other guy doin'." Say "Let me guess...bullrider." Whatever. But for the record...suggesting I'm a domestic violence victim, that I'm too pretty to be one, and then announcing that you don't hit. -- Not a good idea. Not even close.

10:28 a.m. - October 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unapologetic
livingwreck
sparroe
dizboy
science-girl
vocaccia
aaronorear
idiot-milk
tornlace
hissandtell
lethlinn
smashley719
byebeautiful
lauralgood
still-voices
blue-flag
zoela
syncope
stwig
heavenlyging
anonadada72
mij
gnomad
maverick-js
rainforme
bohemianlife
savecraig
serenaville
andnowwhat
everoboto
maskedmofo
orangina21
gerg69
divamel
henryjones
avasays
dangerspouse
iamnicodemus
dominguez
invisibledon
smtmespoet
seme
vina-apsara
c-otter